Filing deadline for upcoming City of Bullard, Bullard ISD elections Feb. 17


Applications for seats on the Bullard City Council and Bullard Independent School District Board of Trustees in the upcoming election are now being accepted.

For citizens wishing to fulfill their civic duty and run for a seat on the Bullard City Council, the City of Bullard is currently applications for the upcoming Saturday, May 6 general election.

Applications for the general election have been available since Wednesday, Jan. 18, and will be accepted until Friday, Feb. 17. Bullard City Council seats up for election in the general election include the seats currently filled by Brent Ratekin and Dennis Camp, as well as the city occupied by Bullard Mayor Pam Frederick.

As of publication deadline, Frederick is the only incumbent candidate that has filed paperwork to seek reelection to her seat.

Applications can be filled out and filed from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday at Bullard City Hall, located at 114 S. Phillips in Bullard. City Hall will remain open until 5 p.m. on Friday, Feb. 17 for the general election and Monday, March 6 for the special election, in order to accommodate last minute filings.

Applications for both the general and special Bullard City Council elections can also be sent in by mail to City Secretary, City of Bullard, P.O. Box 107, Bullard, Texas, 75757.

For more information, contract Bullard City Hall at (903) 894-7223.

Likewise, Bullard ISD is currently accepting applications for seats that are up for election in the upcoming May 6 general election.

The seats for Place 1, Place 2, and Place 3 held currently by Tony Johnson, Fred Zachary, and current president John Alexander, respectively, will be up for grabs in the election. Members of the Bullard ISD Board of Trustees are elected to serve a term of three years.

Johnson has served as Bullard ISD Board of Trustee member for the past 12 years, and has filled the roles of president and vice president. Alexander has served as a Bullard ISD board member for the past nine years, including a complete term as the president. Zachary has served as a board member for three years.

According to information made available to Bullard Banner News, both Johnson and Alexander have refiled the necessary paperwork to seek reelection. Currently, Zachary has not filed for reelection, while Bullard community members Brandi Abercrombie and Brian Vestal have filed to become candidates for Zachary’s seat in the upcoming election.

"A person wanting to be a member of the Board of Trustees at a school district must have a desire to serve in that capacity," said Todd Schneider, Bullard ISD Superintendent. "It is a very challenging and time demanding job. Those interested in the positions must also want to make our community better, as well as make sure our students have access to a quality education."

Bullard ISD began accepting applications for the Board of Trustee positions Wednesday, Jan. 18. The deadline to file applications for the positions up for election is Friday, Feb. 17.

Applications for opening positions for the Bullard ISD Board of Trustees can be filled out in person at the Bullard ISD Administration Office, located at 1426B S. Houston St., in Bullard. Applications can also be mailed to the district at P.O. Box 250, Bullard, Texas, 75757.

The Bullard ISD Administration Office is open 8 a.m. - 4 p.m. Monday through Friday. The office will extend their hours the final day, remaining open 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 17.

For more information about the upcoming BISD Board of Trustees election, contact the BISD Administration Office at (903) 894-6639.


Special Sections